Ecommerce

Should I use the Like or Send Facebook buttons?

Facebook is a great place for your business to share your content and information in order to encourage interaction, build relationships with your customers and spread your brand values.

One such set of tools Facebook have developed in order to make this easier for you is a collection of actions that include the “Like” and “Send” social sharing buttons that are intended to sit on your website, creating a direct channel that gets your website content seen on Facebook.

Both buttons are designed to enable other people viewing your website to effortlessly share content they find to Facebook in order that they can share it with their friends, peers and other social acquaintances. Both buttons work slightly differently, so carry on reading to learn more…

The Facebook ‘Like’ button

Like Button

Use the Facebook Like button on your website if you would like to allow people to announce your content on their news feed or to publish your content on their wall or timeline. The Like button is a particularly effective choice for spreading awareness of your brand through Facebook as it lets people publically display their interest in your company or brand.

Here’s an example of the ‘Like’ button being used on a website to share content:

Like Button being used on a website

A like button can be configured to ‘Like’ your Facebook Page or to like individual pages on your site.
For every Like you receive, you further spread awareness of who you are and what you do.

According to Facebook’s own statistics, the average user has up to 130 friends. So one tiny click can mean getting you in front of a small but significant number of people!

If you’ve been following our other posts at Hallam recently, you’ll understand how important it can be to have your products, services or brand socially validated by others!

When a Like action is performed by somebody it gets displayed on their wall or timeline as a mini-story similar to this:

Like a page

When you like a Page it will typically appear like this:

Like profile story

The Facebook ‘Send’ Button.

Send Button

Use the Facebook Send button on your website to let people share particular pages of your site (by URL*) with specific friends or people they know. When clicking on the Send button, they will be presented with options to allow them to share with friends connected to their facebook account, Facebook groups they own or to select individuals by entering their email address.

The key difference is they have to think about and choose who to share with—unlike the ‘Like’ button that will share it with everybody associated with their account! It’s crucial to understand that this method of sharing won’t appear in any newsfeed, or on any wall or timeline.

By sending people can also write an individual and personalised message along with the link to the page being shared.

*The current URL is the full address that appears within the address bar of your browser.

The ‘Send’ button as used on the ASOS website:

Send Button as seen on ASOS website

This method works far more directly, and in some cases aggressively than the more passive means of sharing that occurs when using the Like button. However, it also means individuals receiving shared content this way will likely value it much more because it was selectively chosen and sent to them specifically.

Example of the ‘Send’ button dialogue box

Send button dialogue box

…And what about the Facebook ‘Share’ Button?

You may have noticed there is also a third button, well this one is quite short & easy—the Facebook Share button is actually the old name for what has now become the ‘Like’ button. This button is no longer supported by Facebook and offers less social analytics information for the people tracking the progress of your social media efforts.

So use the Like button instead!

Further Reading:

Using Incentivised Referrals to Attract New Customers
Measure your Social Media Efforts

Leave a Reply